Healthy Snacks Idea for On the Go

Its snack time everyone. I know that at some point in the day we look for a snack in our bags and we always seem to have the same old boring snack. During the day we get hungry and if you are anything like me, you don’t want to spend $10 to buy a snack or eat the same old unhealthy, sugar filled snack when you can make healthy and delicious ones from home!

Now, I know that in the morning we are all rushing to get ready for school, work, or whatever we have planned for the day and are so tempted to just grab a bag of chips and go. I want to advise you all to take the extra five minutes to make a quick and easy snack that your body and mind will thank you for later in the day. I also deal with this problem because I currently spend most of my days on a college campus, typically from 8:30 to 2pm. I often find myself wishing I packed a healthy snack for me to munch on in between classes.

The foods around me are so tempting because I am hungry and bored. In order for me not to be tempted to eat the sodium and saturated fat filled college food, I have come up with a  few ideas for snacks in the morning that are delicious, nutritious, and easy to make!  I came up with these snack ideas to help get me through the day and keep my belly filled without spending a great deal of money or putting processed foods into my body.

Three of my favorite homemade snack to eat on the go are peanut-butter and banana filled whole wheat crackers, peanut-butter and chocolate chip apple slices, and yogurt with fruit and granola on top. To make these snacks you will need: a jar of peanut butter, one banana, whole-wheat ritz crackers, one apple, mini  dark choc chips, yogurt, any type of fruit, and some granola.  All non-expensive ingredients which can be found at your local grocery store.

For the peanut-butter and banana filled whole wheat crackers I make five sandwiches. I do peanut-butter on both crackers and then a thin slice of banana in the middle. For the apple slices I use one apple slice it into about four pieces. I spread the peanut-butter on top and then sprinkle a few dark chocolate chips on top. Lastly, for the yogurt I get vanilla low-fat flavored and pour it into a jar, add fresh strawberries and blueberries inside and then sprinkle some honey granola on top.

All of these snack can be made in under five minutes and taste great! You can put the crackers and apple slices in a plastic baggie or container and throw them in your bag to eat later in the day. You can put the fruit and yogurt in a mason jar with a lid or a plastic to-go container to keep safe and store for later in the day. All three options are filled with nutritional value that your mind and body will thank you for choosing these snacks over a bag of chips!

P.S. What are some of your favorite snacks to eat while on the go? Comment below:)

 

Leave a Reply

