Balancing friends, family, & a love life

In a world where our lives are determined by the people we surround ourselves with, the people you spend your time with are very important. The majority of us are trying to balance the time we split between the people in our lives. For most of us, theses people include friends, family, and your significant other. With work and school taking up the most of the time in our daily lives, it’s hard to figure out who you are going to spend your leftover time with.

This is a struggle that I too often deal with in my life. I am always questioning if should have a girl’s night with my friends, go to a movie with my family, or have a date night with my boyfriend. This decision may seem like a no brainer to some of you, but for me, I am always trying to be a people pleaser. I want everyone to be happy and I want everyone to get the time and attention they deserve. I want to spend time with everyone because all three of these types are people mean everything to me.

Instead of thinking to yourself, “what can I can do to make other people happy?”, think “what can I do to make myself happy?” This may seem selfish but in all reality you are living your life for yourself, not for anyone else. You are given one life, and the goal of that life is happiness, not pleasing everyone else but yourself.

My advice to all of you is that if you feel like ditching that girl’s night to hangout with your mom/dad do it. If you don’t feel like spending time your significant other than tell them you need a day for yourself. If you don’t wanna do a family night this week than go do something that makes you happy. Life is all about balance. Balancing your time between the people you care about. Not everyday or every week is going to be the same and that’s the whole point. One day your gonna want to spend the whole day with your significant other and some days you just wanna lay in bed and watch movies with your mom. Either choice is fine and either choice is yours.

The take away today is to not let people dictate your happiness. You life is dynamic and unique and that is what makes it fun. If you are ever struggling with balancing your time between loved ones just ask yourself, “who is going to make me happiest today, who is going to bring out the best in me today?  Everyday is different and everyday you are given the opportunity to go out and decide who is going to make you laugh and make you smile.

P.S. Switch it up every now and then, if you hung out with your friends last weekend, plan a date night with your significant other this weekend. It’s all about balance and all about your happiness.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Balancing friends, family, & a love life

  1. I loved this article. It resonates with me because I this is a conflict that I face daily. At the end of the day the advice you give here hits the nail on the head. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

