Morning Routine for a Productive Day

No matter what your age, occupation, or lifestyle is, we all have to wake up at some point to start our day. Whether you know it or not, each one of us has a certain routine they follow when waking up. But, does our regular morning routine help us to be productive throughout the day? My guess would be no. It wasn’t until after I tried a few different ways that I found a morning routine that not only helped clear my mind, but also helped make my day more productive.

Not one person is going to have the same routine or steps they take when waking up in the morning and that is perfectly okay. We are all unique individuals who have different needs. My advice for you guys is to take bits and pieces from the tips I am going to give you,  in order to morph it into your ideal morning routine that works for you.

When I first started thinking about the different ways you can start the day to be productive, I was basing it on whether I had school or work or a day off from both. But then I thought to myself, should it really matter what type of day you have planned if the main objective for all of them is productivity? The answer I came up with is no, It should not matter.

Before I actually put some thought into considering the different ways I could make my day more productive, I alway grabbed my phone and looked through my social media accounts. Looking back, this was probably one of the worst things I could do. The bright screen made my eyes more tired and itchy and I felt inclined to keep checking my phone throughout the day.  Definitely not a good way to start the day.

Some better tactics that I found were while you are just waking up and laying in bed, plan out your day. Now, I don’t mean lay there for an extra thirty minutes and fall back asleep, but actually take the time to think about all the things that are important in your life and that you wish to accomplish. This sets your day up for success. By planning your day out, your brain knows the things it now needs to get done and you are more inclined to be productive.

My favorite way to start the day is with a workout. Working out in the morning keeps me feeling energized and  good throughout the entire day. When I am energized and feeling good, I get more things done. Whether its a quick walk around the block with your dog(s), a long morning run, or even a group fitness class, all that matters is getting out of bed and moving those muscles!  I know this is not possible for everyone because many of us are on a tight time constraint, but try to add it in at least once a week! Trust me on this one

Another way that I find helps make my day productive is getting fully dressed. I know this can be hard for us college students who are just used to throwing on a pair of sweats and running to class. But, when you pick out a super cute outfit that you feel good in, you will want to be productive throughout the day. When you have actual clothes on and your hair is brushed, you are more inclined to not sit on your laptop watching Netlfix, but get some homework done or run errands or maybe actually go to class and pay attention. Its as simples as when you look good you feel good. Look good, feel good, do good.

P.S. Don’t forget that morning cup of coffee to help get you ready for the day!

Leave a Reply

